June 2017 Moms
Options

Mental Health

erinh84erinh84 member
edited December 2016 in June 2017 Moms
Hi ladies. I'm still fairly new to the June BMB. I was part of the N15 board, so I somewhat know the layout and such. I noticed from lurking on another BMB that they have a mental health check in day. I searched the June board, but didn't find much on the subject. Please feel free to let me know if this has been discussed before. I hate to be that annoying person.

anyway, I have bipolar disorder and major depressive disorder. Although I am choosing to stay on my meds this pregnancy, as opposed to first pregnancy, I'm still having a rough time. I tend to have far more manic episodes while pregnant, which makes the depression cycle 10 times worse after an episode.

Anyway, I feel like it would really help to talk to other ladies going through similar situations regarding mental health. If anyone has any suggestions on what day we could post a Mental Health thread(it doesn't neccesarily need to be a weekly thing)even let me know if you think it's too much or a bad idea. I know we already have a lot of posts going on throughout the week.

Thanks ladies. I've really enjoyed being a part of June '17. Also, I like that we have some snark on this board. It always make my day.

edit:because words

Re: Mental Health

• Options
    Hey @erinh84 ~ appreciative of you bringing this to board and sharing your story. Sorry to hear about the increase manic episodes and especially the greater dips following, that's rough.  Kudos to you for figuring out the best self-care for yourself re: meds.  I work in mental health, and I also experience a fair amount of anxiety endemic to my personality, which as it wears on me can lower my mood.  I'm grateful that pregnancy doesn't seem to be increasing it, nor a source of it.  I think my yoga and meditation practices help a lot with keeping it manageable.
    Me: 34, FTM, DH: 34
    BFP: 9/30/16, EDD: 6/9/17
  • Options