June 2017 Moms

Figuring out maternity leave yet?

2»

Re: Figuring out maternity leave yet?

• @caribbeanmama Wow, I must teach for the wrong school! My administration heard I was due in June and informed me that I wouldn't get the STD pay because it could only be for the 6 weeks directly following delivery (I'm a 10 month employee, so I won't be around for that anyway) and then assumed that I would come back full time in August or not at all.  No teaching relief or anything of the sort for that semester.  Thankfully my department chair is willing to work with me to get someone to cover my classes for the first couple weeks of the fall semester so I can try to get little one to 12-16 weeks before I come back.  The administration is NOT happy with me, but as I understand it they don't have much choice given FMLA.
  • @caribbeanmama...No, not in academia. I'm a Peds ER physician, but since my benefits are through the medical school that my hospital is affiliated with, I get a week of leave by being "faculty" at the med school. It would certainly be nice to take more paid time off, but that's not possible for me.
  • Loading the player...
  • I can take 10 weeks total, 6 of those fully paid then after that I have to use accrued sick days and vacation days. I'm considering asking to hold off using some of that so I can take time off later in the year and for those inevitable sick days my child will have. So I'm looking at potentially 4 unpaid weeks as worst case scenario. 

@gabadoo I'm like you where my husband has a business and I'm shouldering a lot of the load. He would like to quit his full time job and focus on the business, which will leave me solely responsible for insurance and income security
  • MrsW524 said: