July 2017 Moms
Options

Just tell me now - how many times am I about to get poked with a needle

Ok, I did it, I'm finally preggo, first scan tomorrow, time to rip off the bandaid.  Give me the estimate - how many needles are in my immediate future?  Differentiating between the delivery room and the pre-delivery rigamorole would be helpful.  Any heads up about other invasive procedures would be helpful as well.  My parents never really took me to the dr. so I'm not very good with medical stuff.  But I'm gonna try and stay chill about it for LO's sake.  I don't have any birth plan yet, but will probably not try to go all natural.  Might need a c-section, it's common in my family..

Re: Just tell me now - how many times am I about to get poked with a needle

• Options
    cssme13cssme13 member
    edited November 2016
    It depends on your situation. You will definitely have a blood draw for your glucose test between 24-28 weeks and you will get an IV when you go into labor. Your doctor will also probably have blood drawn to confirm pregnancy. As far as a c-section goes you won't have anymore IV's than you do with a vaginal birth and you'll get an epidural but you don't see the needle so it's not too bad. 

I get my blood drawn multiple times because of other factors in my pregnancies so you may have more or less than the ones above. 

Edit for words because they are hard 

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Married: 05/26/2012

DS Born Happy and Healthy via C-section: 10/04/2013

Natural M/C: 07/08/2014

DD Born Happy and Healthy via Emergency C-section: 06/30/2015

BFP #4: 11/15/2016

EDD: 7/27/2017

• Options
    I agree with @cssme13 - every situation is different.

I am 6 weeks today and I have had my blood drawn 3 times already to check my HCG levels due to some spotting .

It will mostly rely on your medical history / background and if you have any complications / issues throughout your pregnancy.
    Me:28 | DH: 28
    Married: 07-2014