Diabetes help, please! — The Bump
3rd Trimester

Diabetes help, please!

Hi there, I had my glucose test last week, and found out yesterday that my fasting and 1 hour blood sugars were well within normal range, but I failed the two hour by just 4 points!!  I got my test kit last night and was told to track 4x/ day until my appointment on Tuesday.  I haven't really changed much about my diet so far, except maybe to cut back slightly on sweets.  Here's my problem, though... I'm no medical expert, but all of the blood sugars I've taken so far seem pretty normal to me.  I tested 1 hour after dinner last night, and breakfast and lunch today, and the numbers were 110, 126, and 101, respectively.  I also tested fasting this morning and got 83.

So my question is this.  What are the optimal ranges for 3rd trimester?  I googled it, but I'm seeing all kinds of different answers online.  I know I'll get all this info from the doctor on Tuesday, but I want to make sure I'm doing what's best for the baby in the meantime.

Thanks!

Re: Diabetes help, please!

• I have GD and have been testing my sugar 4x a day since about 30 weeks (37 weeks now).  Different doctors will have different directions for when to test and what ranges they are looking for, but the one I hear most commonly (and what my doctor asks for) are a fasting number under 90 and under 120 when testing 2 hours after you start each meal. 

If your numbers are in range, that's great. It doesn't mean you don't have GD, but it means that you are eating an amount that YOUR body can handle appropriately right now.