January 2016 Moms
Options

Time for Yourself

BGoperadivaBGoperadiva member
edited June 2016 in January 2016 Moms
So lately I have been feeling really down, not about my lo, just in general.  I am having a hard time taking time for myself.  My husband is great, he will look at me and say just let me know when you want to go do something and I will watch lo.  The problem is, when he says this, I have absolutely NO IDEA what I want to do.  I want to go do something, but the second I start thinking about what I could do, I have this mom guilt about not spending time with my baby (I am a full time working mom, so I think that contributes to a lot of the guilt).

For non-first time moms, does this get easier? Will it be easier to take time for myself later on? 

Re: Time for Yourself

• Options
    lrayaslrayas member
    I just barely started taking time for myself by going to the gym. Nothing extreme, just 30 min on the treadmill. I am a teacher and have the summer off. My husband works nights. I've started taking over daytime duties but am making it a point to go to the gym at least 5 times a week. I try to go when she naps so I don't have as much "mom guilt" for not being nearby. It's done a lot for my mood too. I feel like I'm emotionally in a better place by doing this one thing for myself. The first week was rough but now at week 3 it's a nice little getaway. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    A few days a week DH takes LO to daycare so I can have time to exercise and shower alone. At first I felt incredibly guilty because this means LO usually spends a little longer at daycare  (maybe 30-60 minutes)those days but I have to remind myself I need to take a just little time for myself. When I don't I really start feeling in a rut and just kinda overwhelmed.
  • Options
    Yes I am a FTM, but I can relate.