December 2015 Moms
Options

Am I being crazy?

I work 3Rd shift and dh works 1st. My DH grandmother watches ds for the in-between time of when he leaves and I get home. The other morning Gram and I were chatting about ds teething and she says "yea I felt around in there but didn't feel anything." Um, why are your fingers in my son's mouth? I'm a nurse and a bit of a germophobe, and let's not to forget to mention she has these wildly long nails and on more than one occasion I've noticed her touch raw meat and wipe her hands on a towel without washing them. Am I dwelling/blowing it out of proportion in my head? I can't stop thinking about it tho? Opinions pls!! >.<

Answers

• Options
    Honestly I wouldn't worry about it. Maybe explain that as long as she washes her hands then it's okay but I don't really see much of an issue or at least one to blow up about considering she's helping you out
  • Options
    Just have a casual talk with her about hand washing and maybe bring up current CDC guidelines. We didn't even talk to my grandma about it. My mom had made a comment on needing to get better about it herself and that the hospital was pushing it that everyone washed their hands everyone before holding them when they were born. Then last time we were all down at my grandma's she's telling us "I washed my hands so I can hold babies!"

I don't think you're  crazy. The meat thing would drive me nuts and then thinking of where else her hands have been and when was the last time she washed them. Not crazy at all.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    My MIL let DS chew on her finger which bothered me and DH.  it hurt her feelings a little bit I would rather have my MIL mad at me then a sick kiddo.  I work at a hospital as a PTA so I know about all the nasty germs too lol.  
  • Options