May 2016 Moms
Options

Quitting my job advice (long)

Since the working mamas board is super slow these days, I figured I’d try to get some advice here. I apologize in advance for the rambling.

A little back story on me. I have a degree in public relations with experience working in social media marketing, event planning etc. I ended up going back to school for nursing before I got pregnant but never finished (long story there, but I plan to go back after I have children and they’re all school aged.) Anyway, once school ended, I couldn’t find anything in my field, so I jumped into a receptionist job just to have SOMETHING. I planned to keep my feelers out for something in PR, then got pregnant shortly after. I should’ve kept looking but I have had a very tough pregnancy (morning sickness almost the whole time, GD, and other issues that make me high risk). I didn’t want to start a job and have to miss all kinds of work then have to ask for maternity leave on top of that. Anyway, the pay here SUCKS. My husband fortunately takes on all of the bills and my money is just extra, but I plan to pay for child care and necessities for the baby so it doesn’t all fall back on him. After daycare, I’ll have very little left over. I have made triple this pay in PR type jobs in the past, so I know they are out there. I also want to feel proud of myself again and accomplished, and I just don’t feel that here.

One of the biggest issues is the coworker I share an office with, but that would be a novel in itself. I know you all know how hard it is being hormonal, uncomfortable, in pain and just done, and her negativity and attitude toward me and everyone else leaves me so down every single day. My boss also “cannot believe I have so many doctor’s appointments, nobody else goes to the doctor that much when they are pregnant,”..etc. That alone has me about done. Every time I tell her about my next appointment she gets mad, rolls her eyes and shakes her head.