April 2016 Moms
Options

Conflicting opinions about Braxton Hicks

I know there are (probably multiple) Braxton Hicks threads but this is kind of specific and also a bit of a vent so hopefully nobody will mind! It's kind of a long story.

I'm 27 weeks 3 days and have been getting Braxton Hicks for quite a while now but starting Thursday morning, I started having them constantly, every few minutes. Some were quite strong. Never really "painful" but really uncomfortable. So because I was getting them so often, I called the nurse line Friday morning to see if I could anything to ease them at all. She told me to drink more water and rest then told me to time them for two hours and call back.
I am a toddler teacher, with a classroom full of two and a half year olds so resting didn't really happen. I do a lot of bending, squatting, lifting, etc. I did notice that when I was able to sit down, I went longer with out having one. After two hours, I had about 15 of them ranging anywhere from 5 minutes apart to 15 minutes depending on how active I was. So I called back two hours later and left a message. I finally heard back about two and a half hours later and it was a different nurse. I filled her in on everything and she told me that because they calmed down when I rested then they were definitely Braxton hicks and not real contractions, which I was pretty certain of already. She told me to drink more water and to lay down and use heating pads when they get intense, try a belly band, etc. So I told her about my job and told her that I can try and sit when I can, but lying down during the work week really just isn't going to happen while I'm at work. I can't just leave my co-teacher alone with ten toddlers to go lay down somewhere. I asked if there was anything negative that could come from me continuing to work the way I do, because if it's just the discomfort I could deal with it. Then she said, "Well with how many you are having, it could throw you into real labor."