Trying to Get Pregnant
Options

Drinking alcohol while TTC

Hi all! My husband and I are very excited to be TTC -- I am trying hard not to be anxious and overthink the process yet am wondering about drinking alcohol while TTC. I have an upcoming friends bachelorette party a week after I ovulate (where we will be trying) and I know I will be interrogated if I don't drink (I also WANT to drink as it is my best friends bachelorette and want to celebrate with her).. Wondering if drinking that weekend will be an issue if we were lucky the week before.. Will it impact the process? Such a novice question, I know, but don't want to hinder my chances of getting pregnant for drinking (but also don't want to miss out if it won't make a difference as i won't be "pregnant" yet

Best Answers

• Loading the player...

Re: Drinking alcohol while TTC

• Options
    Agree with PPs here. Don't live like you're pregnant until you actually are. If you are worried you could take a test the morning of the party and go from there.

Me: 28 DH: 29
    Married: August 2014
    TTC #1 Since March 2015
    Diagnosed with PCOS March 2016
    SA results normal April 2016
    3 rounds clomid + trigger + TI = BFN
    3 rounds clomid + trigger + IUI = BFN
    Uterine polyp removed July 2017
    Round 1 IVF January 2018

• Options
    sarah0985sarah0985 member
    edited December 2015
    Ultimately it's up to you. I personally know a ton of people who got pregnant and had no idea and drank and everything was alright.
    Me personally, I still drink. Otherwise I would have given up all booze last May. That's a long time to have been sober for really no reason seeing as how we haven't gotten pregnant. Would it have been the end of the world? No. But I'd have missed a lot of events because I wouldn't want to explain nor be around a bunch of drunk people while sober. I did enough of that while bar tending. At least then I was making money.