August 2016 Moms
Options

Type 1 diabetic 8 weeks blood sugar levels

I'm about 8 weeks along (baby #1!!!!!) and have been a t1d for over 10 years. I 've always had great control (5.9A1c's) but this 1st trimester is recking havok on my normalcy. I am not yet high risk- my endo seems to think I can manage without one but he wants my blood sugars to NEVER be higher than 120 and wants me to aim for 60-80 before and after meals.....is this pretty normal or does he just have ridiculous standards for me....:( managing my diabetes has never been this hard (except for maybe when I was first diagnosed) I'm getting a little discouraged....any t1d mom to be's or already mom's have any advice?

Re: Type 1 diabetic 8 weeks blood sugar levels

• Options
    I am not a Type I DM, but I am a nurse. I think that those target sugars are a little bit too strict. In the hospital, we treat any fingersticks that are <80 as hypoglycemia. You've kept your hemA1c so low, I think you'll do great. The 60-80 just seems unreasonable for a Type I DM, especially one that is pregnant. I would think that as long as your giving yourself the right coverage and not getting significantly higher than usual, then it would be fine. I would not recommend getting lower than 80, especially while pregnant. I would think that aiming for 80-90 preprandial, and no greater than 100, would be appropriate, but then again, I am no endo lol.