September 2015 Moms

Questions to ask potential daycare?

We are touring daycare centers and I am wondering what questions should be on my list to ask? Thanks!

Re: Questions to ask potential daycare?

• 1. Do the teachers have degrees or any qualifications in childcare?
    2. What is the adult to child ratio?

Try and ask around if there has been any prior problems with the school/teachers. Research everything you can find because a lot of things go unrecognized in childcare facilites. I was a preschool teacher and I adored my job, but after the things I've seen, I myself am not comfortable ever sending my child to one. Just be sure you know everything about the place before you decide which to go to
  • I agree with Chelsea's points. Something to think about for further down the road (but very important) is their transition schedule. Do the kids move up when they're ready, when their birthday arrives, as a class, etc? I had major issues with DD1 being moved when they needed her spot, not when she was ready to move. It's solved now.

Also, I didn't know my school discounted tuition based on situations. My DD1 cost about $1250/month for full time. When DD2 was born they were going to charge $2500/month for the two of them. I told them that a nanny in the area would cost $2000/month and they were quick to drop our fee by $500/month! Now that I only have one in daycare, I've still been able to negotiate a discount and with DD3 starting in January they're still honoring the rate.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • I asked if they had video cameras and about their drop in policy. They didn't have cameras but they allow you to come visit / nurse when ever you would like.

Also asked about their security policy, staff turn over rate, cancelation policy (in case I found a better place or situation change), cleaning / sanitization, days / holidays they close on, bad weather closing policy...