Attachment Parenting
Options

Stay at home vs daycare

I'm experiencing some mommy guilt although I only work 30 hours (3 ten hour days) and I'm curious to different stances on both situations. I would love to stay home but my husband thinks we couldn't do it financially( I disagree and feel like he is the one that spends more /likes his material things). For me all I want is to be a mom and I'm ok with cutting way down. It's so hard being away from my 10 month old and our day care is a disaster. I'm also new to discovering "attachment parenting" and what it all means.

Re: Stay at home vs daycare

• Options

Sounds like a conversation you need to have with your husband.

I work 4 days and get 3 days home with my kids and I'm really happy with this. I enjoy the balance between working and being with my family. I like bringing in money but I'm glad to have one day off a week. I don't want to cut way back on things we enjoy or things we get from having 2 incomes. For me, the balance we have works great for our family.

I'm also lucky in the fact that I have great childcare for both of my kids. If I wasn't happy with that then I would be making some changes albeit working less or finding a new daycare/school.

This isn't a decision for anyone to make other than you and your husband and it's not an easy one. Do what makes you happy because you won't get this time with your child back. Good luck.

• Options