Babies: 3 - 6 Months

working nights and keeping consistent routine

NurseRiegerNurseRieger member
edited November 2015 in Babies: 3 - 6 Months
Any working moms out there doing nightshift and keeping baby in routine? I go back to work this week and my husband and I both work nights. When we work the same night baby will be at my parents house. So like 1 night with grandma, 2 nights at home with daddy and 4 nights with mommy basically. I feel bad I can't keep every day consistent and I'm just getting into the swing of things at 12 weeks. Like my goal right now is a consistent afternoon nap which I'm barely getting. Just wondering if anyone had some tips.

Re: working nights and keeping consistent routine

• I work 12 hour night shifts and DH does 12 hour days on the same rotation, so basically he has her at night, I have her during the day, we hand her back and forth at crew change (huge money saver), and we have our days off together. DH has it pretty easy, DD pretty much falls asleep around 9-10 every night on her own. She's up all day for me though. I can't lie, it's tough. Worse for me than her lol.
  • Omg when do u sleep?
  • Loading the player...
  • Hey! Dh is on mids and I do the swing shift (one week of days one of Eve's). I thought going back to work was going to be harder on my lo but really it's just harder on me/dh.

I would ask your mom to come over for bedtime one night so she can see what you do. Since I normally put my DD down at night (because dh works mids) I had him go through everything with me before I went back to my evening shift. It all works out. Gl!
    SIGGY WARNING//TICKER WARNING//PAIF

Long of the Short:
     TTC since April 2013  DH 42 y/o I'm 30  Dh had vasectomy reversal Feb 2013 after 3 months developed scar tissue 
     First Re appt was September 2013 OOP for everything minus meds  
    DH's TESE surgery December 2013
    First cycle was February 2014 BFN none to freeze