2nd Trimester
Options

Why find out baby's sex before birth?

So this might be opening up a can of worms (and I'm a newb!), but I genuinely want to know. Having read some heated exchanges on these boards about gender norms, I'm wondering what reasons folks have for finding out their baby's sex before birth. Does curiosity get the best of you? Are there reasons besides gendered purchases that I haven't thought of and ought to consider?

My plan now is not to find out, though I admit I'm curious. I'll also admit I plan to have a boy name and a girl name ready....though I've tried to think of one name that would work for both. (And there's a tension there in that I think traditionally boy names would probably be perceived by society at large as more acceptable for a girl than vice versa. Ugh!)

If you have picked out a good boy+girl name, too, I'd love to hear it!

Re: Why find out baby's sex before birth?

• Options
    I would guess the main reason people want to know the baby's sex is to have that knowledge while picking out names/registry items/nursery items etc. Then there are others that like the surprise and therefore just pick gender neutral items. I'm sure there are tons of other reasons on both sides, I'm just speaking in general.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    This is just my opinion, but even though I don't want to push strict gender norms on my children, I will definitely dress them in gender specific clothing when they are babies. People are dumb, and if you don't have a girl wearing a huge bow on her head, they'll think it's a boy. It would be a pain to correct people.

With the names, a lot of people like to put their child's name in the nursery or have things monogrammed.

We will do a different nursery depending on the sex. Not overly gender specific, just more of a compromise between my husband and my own different preferences :)
    *Siggy Warning*
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

• Options