April 2016 Moms
Options

Safe to administer live vaccines for healthcare professionals?

Any health care professionals (or anyone really!) know if there is a consensus on the safety of administering live vaccines? I'm a pharmacist and work for a chain that is big on vaccine services. The other day, an intern and I were talking about handling unsafe drugs during pregnancy, and she mentioned me not being able to administer live vaccines. Apparently she worked with a pharmacist who wouldn't do zoster while pregnant. I'd never considered this.

I can't find anything on it, either. I imagine an accidental needle stick with the shingles vaccine would be bad news, and while I've never had a needle stick injury, that doesn't mean it's impossible. Is there any information or guidelines out there? What are any nurses, physicians, pharmacists, and other vaccine givers doing in regards to this?

I have my anatomy scan next week and plan to ask, but I thought I'd come here first!

Re: Safe to administer live vaccines for healthcare professionals?

• Options
    edited October 2015
    Totally not what you asked, but is the shingles vaccine something I should get after pregnancy (since its live right?), and encourage DH to get? We both had chicken pox as kids and while DS had his varicella vaccine, the new baby won't until they're 1. Or is the vaccine something only older people can get like in the commercials?

Edited for words
    First BFP 12/2012, MMC at 9 weeks
    Second BFP 6/2013, resulted in DS, born 2/23/14 :-)
    Third BFP 5/2015, natural MC at 6 weeks
    Fourth BFP 8/2015, hoping for sticky little brother or sister to H!
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Proud SAHM to our little monkey H. 
    Pro Vax, extended breasftfeeder, ring sling and stroller loving mama. I don't judge you unless you don't vaccinate!
  • Options