July 2015 Moms
Options

Being a surrogate

Have you ladies thought of being a surrogate? I've caught myself thinking about it a lot lately. It can give me a chance to stay home with my boys till atleast my 4 year old starts school and my youngest boy is 11 weeks. Has anybody on here been a surrogate before what are the qualifications?

Re: Being a surrogate

• Options
    I thought abt it before this pregnancy. My first was so easy. This one wasn't. 
  • Options
    I've thought about it but don't want to take the risk having someone else's baby when I have a little one that depends on me. I bled out after LO was delivered, but they were able to get it under control rather quickly. I've seen some terrible things happen to new moms because I'm an ICU nurse, and although it's rare, it's not worth it to me.

Me: 33, DH: 35
    Married 10/13, TTC since 7/13
    Dx: MFI
    IUI #1 7/14: BFN
    IUI #2 8/14: BFN
    IVF #1 11/14: 20R17M15F
    Transferred 1 three day embryo! 7 frosties!
    BFP!  EDD 7/27/15

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I have thought about and might actually look deeper into it when I'm no longer nursing. I was reading an article about it that said you couldn't be a surrogate while breastfeeding. Like you, I could stay home with my boys if I did it.
  • Options
    I have always thought if someone asked, I would. After this pregnancy, I would definitely be willing. I had an easy pregnancy and delivery. DH however, is super against it, more from the "what if something were to happen to you" standpoint.
  • Options
    No but years ago I thought of donating eggs…
  • Options