Multiples

How long should RNs expect to work with twins?

Hi everyone! I am a Nicu nurse expecting twins, currently 18 weeks along. Was wondering if how long everyone is planning on working or when you did go out of work with twins!

My first ob told me when ever my body told me it was time and now last week another ob told me 28 weeks!! I have read 28 weeks in a few different books but wanted to see what other ladies, especially nurses made it to. The health of these 2 boys is the most important thing to me!!

Thanks in advance everyone

Re: How long should RNs expect to work with twins?

• I am a med-surg RN, currently 24w3d with twins. So far, I feel ok working my 3 12 hr shifts/week but am starting to feel my days are numbered. I am super sore by the end of my shift & often don't sleep well that night due to back pain. My OB told me he'd write me out of work whenever I'm ready. I can also do light duty (I.e. Sit at the telemetry desk) so I'm not completely out of work, if needed. I'm trying to push it so I don't eat up my FMLA before the babies are born but, as my OB said, keeping the babies in as long as possible is most important. My OB also said he's never seen a twin pregnancy work past 32 weeks.
    I think it's just important to listen to your body. As nurses, we tend to push ourselves beyond our limits & now is not the time to do that. If you are really feeling like you can't work any longer, push for your OB to take you out, or maybe try to see if there is a light duty option for you. Nursing is no joke not being pregnant, let alone with twins. I think we have much to be proud of!
    I am also curious to others experiences...
    DH & I married 12/17/2012
    Me (31)-dx w/PCOS 2007, when married to ex-husband after MC
    DH (41)-no MFI
    07/2014-Femara 5mg + trigger + IUI= chem preg ;(
    08/2014-Femara 5mg + trigger + IUI + 2nd trigger= BFN
    09/2014-Clomid 100mg + trigger + IUI + 2nd trigger= BFN