Babies on the Brain

How to break the news

my friend has been TTC for over a year. A few months back she was extremely upset that our coworker mentioned she was pregnant after only TTC for a short time.My husband and I just found out that I am pregnant after only one month of trying. I figured I'd tell everyone after our first trimester , but I'm nervous that I'm going to upset her. Any ideas on how to break the news gently?

Re: How to break the news

• I have no personal experience with this, but I have read in other places that it is sometimes helpful to break the news via text, so that she can have whatever reaction she is going to have without you standing there.  It will give her some time to cry and then put on a happy face if that's what needs to be done.  It also gives you some time to get a sense of how she is responding before being face to face.  I probably also would limit the information passed on, and not elaborate that you got pregnant your first month of trying, or how far along you are, unless she asks.
  • Loading the player...
  • My SIL was in this same position. She had been trying for a year and her best friend got pregnant after a month. No matter how sensitive you are, it's still going to be a struggle for her but she'll be happy for you. I agree that you should tell her over the phone or in person. Put yourself in her shoes and imagine how you'd like to be told if the roles are reversed. You're clearly already considering her feelings so that's great. You're a good friend. Congrats on your pregnancy!
  • als1982 said: