Toddlers: 12 - 24 Months

Biting

A few weeks ago my friends son bit my daughter (16 months). Since that happened she's been biting a lot and then laughs. I know she is doing it for attention so I tried to ignore it and redirect her to something different but she has started biting a lot more and other people so I have to bring attention to it. Every time she does it I say firmly no bite! And I put her in a "time out" in her crib for 1 minute. I am not sure what else to do! The ironic thing is I am a special education teacher for children with autism so behavior therapy is one of the biggest parts of my job but it feels so different when it is my own child! (as weird as that sounds?). At work I would know exactly what to do! I feel so defeated at home :( How else can I handle this?

Re: Biting

• mhwoodmhwood member
    I would avoid putting her in her crib for time out, that could backfire on you. At her age, she also doesn't get time out. Using something like redirection and positive reinforcement for acceptable behaviours will work much better.
  • I agree she is probably not making the connection between biting and time out but I feel that there has to be some consequence so she learns it is not appropriate behavior. I have been using redirection and positive reinforcement however if she does bite I need to have reactive strategies that's why I will remove her and put her in crib for 1 minute. If I am not near her crib I obviously can't do that. I also understand this is a phase and something toddlers do but I at least want to make sure I am doing everything I can as a parent to try and teach her appropriate behaviors. Children are never to young to start learning
  • Loading the player...