November 2015 Moms

High Risk Trisomy 18

We found out today that based on my first trimester blood tests we have a 1 in 20 chance that our baby will have Trisomy 18. Our Doctor is recommending an amnio but I have some reservations. I know the risk of miscarriage is low but I don't know that I am willing to take any additional risk at all. The US didn't show any markers. Anyone else dealing with this OR anyone that has had an amnio and can give me some insight? I've been researching all afternoon/night and I think I actually found the end of the internet.

Thanks!

Re: High Risk Trisomy 18

• Woke up in the middle of the night and read your post. I have no experience but just wanted to say I'm sending many good thoughts your way.

Based on simply "what would I do?": like you, I'd research the heck out of it. I'm not one for excessive medical intervention (really, who is?) but if you trust your doctor, I would follow his/her lead. Have you read the stats on amnio safety (0.06% loss rate when done between 15-20 weeks?)? For me, knowledge is power. Whatever would give me the best chance of helping my child and making the best decision about his/her health and care would be my course of action. I know that it may be a lesser of two evils scenario.

Again, I'm sorry you are going through this and will think about you and pray for peace.
  • sla626sla626 member
    That is a tough choice. I fully understand. If your baby does happen to have trisonomy they will need a lot of extra support and monitoring while in the womb so you may want to find out for sure. Also it may ease your mind if it turns out the baby doesn't have trisonomy. Prayers for you that you can come to the right decision for you and your family.
  • Loading the player...
  • ash413ash413 member
    Can you ask for a free fetal cell genetic testing instead