International Bumpies

Things for MIL to bring from the US, and things that can wait until we go home 6 weeks after EDD

Hello all! I'm new to this, so hopefully I do this right, but I moved to Italy almost a year ago and am due in November. We won't go back home until December for Christmas, but we have several family members and friends visiting this summer and all of them want to know what they should bring for us.
Our families and friends are also insisting on having a baby shower for us when we get home, which is so sweet and I feel very lucky, but I really have no idea how to do this whole international registering thing, and everything here seems to be so much more expensive... We have decided we will pay the airline fee for an extra suitcase on the way back and try to have extra space in our suitcases on the way home, but I don't anticipate being able to fit any large items in the suitcases

So, my questions are

1. What things are essential to have as soon as the baby is born?
That way I can have them sent to friends/families houses before they come visit, or search for the big items here (hoping IKEA will have the furniture we need without breaking the bank, but we are penny pinching and saving for what we need)

2. What are things that can wait until the baby is about 4-8 weeks old, but are essential in general?

3. Does anyone know of any multi-use type strollers available in Europe? Italy tends to not have quite as many options but we can ship from other european countries more easily than from the US, and I assume we need this before coming home?

Thanks for your help! I've been looking at the Babies R Us registry checklist, but it's a little overwhelming and I don't know if all of the things listed in the "must-have" section are actually must-haves.

Re: Things for MIL to bring from the US, and things that can wait until we go home 6 weeks after EDD