Parenting after 35

How do you do it?

How do you get through the first few weeks with a newborn without drugs or alcohol?

I know I'm still learning things as a FTM and babies have varying temperaments but I find it hard to imagine doing this while caring for other kids. I've only recently been able to dash to the bathroom without triggering a complete meltdown. At least I've gotten into a workable rhythm. I hope it sticks!

I read somewhere that baby acne peaks with fussiness... The acne look like they're on the wane.. Lol

Re: How do you do it?

• Hahaha hang in there, or can someone bring you mercy wine?

I remember having my first newborn and wondering how mothers with toddlers did this. But the first one is hard, or in my experience it was, because I was getting used to the tiredness and the never-endingness of it, and the fact that you couldn't just "pop to the shop" whenever you felt like it, and the fact that whatever plans you had for the day could go completely out the window and you could end up sitting on the couch rocking a baby ALL day..

Now my children have completely broken me :) none of that bothers me, and I just cruise with it.

I also think you get better at doing things one handed.

I hope everything keeps coming together for you, they do settle into their own routines, and the routines do start to last longer (I remember when my newborn first did something for 3 days and I thought, "yes nailed it." and the next day they did something completely different...they seem to know if you have an appointment or a plan to go out which you've carefully planned around their naps :) )

Best wishes to you and your beautiful baby!
    Elizabeth 5yrs old Jane 3yrs old

• One day at a time. Those first few/several weeks were really hard for me too but it got so much better.

Things that helped then :
    -eat while nursing. Grilled cheese or pb sandwich cut into bite sized pieces works well. Or other finger foods. With a water bottle handy.