July 2015 Moms

maternity leave

I work as a waitress and make 11.00 and hour I do not claim my tips I make about 600 every two weeks I am due July first and my goal is to make it to June first for my last day of work I'll be 36 weeks I'm curious to know how much I'll receive I know it won't be much this will be my first time collecting and would like to hear what you guys received

Re: maternity leave

• What are you planning on collecting? Short term disability insurance???
  • I plan on collecting maternity
    leave EI
  • Loading the player...
  • I think it varies state to state.
  • What is maternity leave el?
  • Yeah it varies for each state. Texas doesn't have anything like this for maternity.
  • There is no paid maternity leave anywhere in the US. You would need to had a short term disability policy or something similar in order to receive paid leave. Are you in the US or Canada?
  • If you're in Canada, you'd get 55% of your earnings for up to 52 weeks. Not sure how they would calculate for you since your earnings would vary from week to week.
  • In California, you get 6 weeks family leave up to around 50% pay. Sadly, that's the most progressive policy in the US. 52 weeks in Canada! Gosh our country needs to get out of the dark ages. :(
  • cls2015cls2015 member
    edited April 2015
    The only thing required in the US is FMLA (that is unpaid time off for 12 weeks).  And, in order to receive that, you must work at a company with at least 50 employees and have worked there for at least 1 year (and 1250 hours).  

A few states have there own laws which provide for more time off or paid time off, but not many states do this.

It's really the contract you signed when you began working that you need to go by.  Most companies set there own policies, but you need to check into that. I think with an hourly wage job, you may not be offered much, if anything.