School-Aged Children
Options

Is this normal?

2-Step2-Step member
edited March 2015 in School-Aged Children
I am new to this school-aged-kid thing, so let me know if I am just out of touch. Since the beginning of kindergarten we have had ongoing problems with big kids tripping all the kindergarteners in the hallways, my son has been bullied by another student to the point where I actually had to go express concerns to the principal and his teacher (mostly name calling, but some serious threats), there was a lockdown because of a search for a suspected felon in the area and then the following week the bus was delayed 30 minutes because of a scare that a child had a knife on the bus. We live in a rural area, near a small town that is middle class with well rated schools. Granted, our school is in the most rural area of the district so there is a wider mix of families and kids at this school than others.

I'm moving him to another elementary in the district next year because my mom works there and it has a great reputation. My question is just, is this normal stuff that just happens in schools regularly now? I don't remember any of this type of stuff when I was in school, certainly not in kindergarten! I was one of those moms that was like - "My kid is going to ride the bus because I'm not going to baby him! I'm not driving him to a school across the district just because my mom is there!. . . . . but now I'm starting to sing a different tune.

None of my friends have kids in school yet and they all seem shocked when I talk to them about these things.

Re: Is this normal?

• Options
    Some of what you are noticing is pretty normal.  I also live in a rural/suburban area, which is to say that I live on a rural two lane road, but we're on the outskirts of a well-developed suburban neighborhood.