LGBT Parenting
Options

Introducing myself

Hi there! I joined the Bump because my wife and I are finally in serious talks about having a baby this year. I've always known I would like to be the carrier, but other than that, we were just waiting for "the right time" which I think is a curse of lesbian parents because we could just overplan forever & ever. We did always say that we wanted to wait until I graduated from college before I got pregnant. I've been working toward my bachelors degree as an adult student for the past 4+ years and I'm finally in my second to last semester! 

So, here's our plan so far: We have always known that we wanted to try to find a Samoan donor. My wife is half white half Samoan (it's a little Polynesian island with beautiful people lol) so we love that the baby would have that added connection to her. We had a couple of potential donors that were friends of friends/relatives, but for one reason or another, didn't work out. 

Then, we started talking about going on a big trip this year before I graduate because we know that once we have a baby it might be a while before we travel again. My wife's sister lives in Australia, so all we would have to do is buy plane tickets and we would be set for a great vacation. Her sister also lives with a few more distant relatives in a bigger house. Many of them travel to New Zealand and Australia from Samoa for better job opportunities, etc. One of them is my wife's distant cousin who is a guy in his 20s that we met when they visited last year. I think we didn't even consider him as a viable option for a donor because he lived so far away but suddenly as we started talking about going to AU, we realized it might work. After a few back and forths with her sister, we received a message on New Year's Eve (which is also the 11 year anniversary from when we started dating) that he happily accepted!