January 2015 Moms

Baby wants to be held all the time- help!

This is my first time writing, though I followed the boards throughout my pregnancy. I had a little boy on 25th of Jan and he has literally been held 24/7 since he was born. He screams and cries whenever we put him down. My husband and I are sleeping in 2 hour shifts, often less for me since I'm breastfeeding. Our son is extremely strong and we were told not to swaddle him by the hospital staff and our pediatrician because he can get out of it. He is also able to get on his side in his crib. Our pediatrician also told us not to put him in anything other than his crib or the pack and play. That everything else (rock and play, swings, etc...) is unsafe due to how their head can hang; that they can easily cut off their air supply causing SIDS. Basically to lay them flat only in a sleep sack (he can get out of the Velcro ones too) in his crib/a completely flat surface. Well, he hates this and just screams when we put him down, so we spend all the time holding him. My husband is back at work and my parents are now coming over t take turns holding him so I can try to sleep some. Any suggestions on what to do to get him to lay down would be great! Thank you all in advance!

Re: Baby wants to be held all the time- help!

• Also- I tried the sleep sack, prior to my RNP/swaddle routine, and didn't get any success. It doesn't do anything to keep the arms down, which is the reason your baby is waking himself up and getting startled. Also- Make sure you BURP. That plays a big part in getting them to sleep independently.
  • Loading the player...