Infertility
Options

Overstim on 50 iu Follistim?

Hi all, This is my first time posting. I just don't know where to turn and have been googling like crazy the last day (which just scares me even more). A little background- I was diagnosed with hypothalamic amenorrhea after not getting my periods back after stopping BCP. I did ovulate once and got pregnant but sadly ended in MC. Clomid did nothing for me, which RE figured but we tried it anyway. Since the beginning, RE has been very positive about me doing injectables and having success with just timed intercourse. After what seemed like forever, we got the okay to start provera, bring on a period, and start Follistim. I got tested for AMH which was great (nice and high) and went for all the instruction on Follistim with the usual warnings of ovarian hyperstim and having to cancel a cycle (though the NP doing my training said that didn't happen very often and they'd be monitoring me closely).

So all is good and then I go for my baseline US a few days ago and I (I can't remember which), either 25-35 little follicles. So I go see the NP who reviews the US with me and she says that it's great that I have so many follicles (yay!) BUT (of course) it puts me at high risk for overstimulating and having to cancel the cycle. Then she just freaked me out (because I've never thought of it- the RE was so optimistic with us about just the meds and timed intercourse) and said I'd be the perfect candidate for IVF (because I have so many follicles) and it'd be something to consider at some point. So of course all I heard was "cancel cycle, IVF." She did say that they'd go very slow and low with dose with me and monitor me very closely and that everyone's body responds different to the meds so they'll just wait and see. Called me that night and said the RE wanted me to start 50 iu for next 3 days (I'm on night 2) and then US Monday.