TTC after 35
Options

Funding Maternity Leave

My company offers no paid leave. You have to apply for short term disability which will pay 60% of your salary for 6 weeks ad then you can take another 6 weeks unpaid under FMLA. Im planning to start saving 200 bucks a paycheck to fund my maternity leave whenever that may be. What is everyone else planning to do?  Thanks for any feedback :-)

Re: Funding Maternity Leave

• Options
    With my first I was fortunate to have sick days bank to take 9 weeks (I was a teacher). Now I stay home so it's not really an issue.

We have been TTC over a year and a half so it's hard to plan. Saving sounds like a good idea.
  • Options
    When I had my second I had what you will get now. We never live outside our means so we just made do during those times.
    We don't have debt other than a mortgage so our bills were manageable so maybe that's why we were able to do it. I cook all our meals and clip coupons so I'm pretty good on a budget.
    Now I babysit from home so if I do ever get pregnant again I plan on taking a week off then go about my regular schedule.
    But if you can take $200 from every paycheck now and save it you will be fine when you take your 12 weeks off.

Me:39, DH:40

DD born 8/96, DS born 8/04

TTC#3

NTNP since 2006, active trying 1/13

Natural M/C 3/13 at 7 weeks

CP 2/14

Daisypath Anniversary tickers

imageimage

All welcome

• Loading the player...
  • Options