Babies on the Brain
Options

Teachers: Pregnant First Year at New School, Not Planning on Returning

I have a bit of a quandry. My husband and I have decided that we are going to start trying in August or September. I am a teacher, so, if all goes well, I would give birth right before or during my summer vacation. 

I currently teach 6th grade about 25 minutes from home; this is my second year. I like the people with whom I work, but I had never dreamed of teaching 6th grade, and I don't enjoy it very much. My passion is kindergarten. I also want to work closer to home.

Additionally, I don't plan on returning to teaching immediately after having my baby.It'll be a few years (and hopefully a few more children) later before I venture back into education.

Taking all of this into account, what should I do regarding my employment for next year? My husband thinks I should just tough it out where I am now. I would rather get a job in one of the three school districts directly surrounding my home. I just don't want to get a bad reputation when I don't return and have only been there a year. I would love any advice on how to handle this. Thanks!

Re: Teachers: Pregnant First Year at New School, Not Planning on Returning

• Options
    Getting PG can take a month or years. I personally wouldn't quit before knowing I'm going to have a bring home baby.
  • Options
    Well, it can take awhile to get pregnant. I would assume that if you don't come back, you won't have a bad reputation because you wouldn't get hired back there.
    Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickersLilypie Third Birthday tickersLilypie First Birthday tickers
    Photobucket
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    You've got your cart way before your horse here.  You can't plan for an EDD you don't even have yet, so I'd say plan your employment as if you're going to be working next year until you have a BFP that chagnes that.
    Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers