Breastfeeding
Options

pumping schedule at work

Hi all! I'm a teacher and I'm set to return to work in mid-April, at which point I am planning to pump. I have heard that it is necessary to pump every 2-2.5 hrs. to maintain my supply. The way my classes are set up doesn't really allow me to do that. Here is what I was thinking about doing: feed LO at 5 or 5:30 AM, go to work at 7 and pump there around 7:15, pump during my prep at 11:00, and then pump again right after school at 2:40. Do you think it will make a major difference if I pump every 3-4 hours rather than every 2? Just curious what your opinions are since I am a FTM. I guess the only other option would be to ask for coverage when I need to pump but I believe that might be a bit disruptive to my classes.
Married my best friend 7/2/11 - Furbaby born 7/9/11 and brought into our home 9/1/11

BFP#1:   2/2/13 ~ exact m/c date unknown but around 3/20 at 10 weeks ~ diagnosed with PMP ~ D&C on 4/5 ~ TTA for at least 1 year due to PMP ~ cleared to TTC 1/14

BFP#2:   2/7/14 ~ m/c 2/20/14 ~ possibly due to chemical pregnancy ~ TG no D&C is needed 

Surprise BFP#3:  4/4/14 ~ super duper extra happy (and nervous) about this one - EDD 12/9/14!!!

John Joseph was born on 12/12/14 at 7 lbs. 11 oz.  He is the most beautiful rainbow baby we could have wished for!

Re: pumping schedule at work

• Options
    Melody330Melody330 member
    edited January 2015
    How old will LO be when you go back?

Also - your prep is at 11, what time is your lunch? Do you have a duty ?
    imageimage
    Cooper & Melody.     My Rescues <3

• Options
    I've never heard to pump every 2 hours--that sounds brutal! The general consensus I get from this board is about every 2 hours. I'm away from my DD for about 9.5 hours and when she was young I pumped 9, 12 and 3pm.