Single Parents

Toddler routines

I'm posting this here, because I feel comfortable with this group of moms. I don't know if I should really be posting a new thread on this subject, but here goes...

I have to say, first of all, that I work in retail. I work part-time, between 20 and 24 hours, on average. While I usually have Saturdays off, because I'm unavailable (no daycare), I don't know what my work schedule is going to be one week to the next. Some weeks I work mostly days. Then the schedule changes and I'm back to evenings, which can be as late as 11pm. I can't do a whole lot to limit the hours I'm available, because it will change my status for health insurance. The more limitations I put on my availability, the less hours they have to give me. If I work under 20 hours a week, I lose my insurance for the month- which is really the MAIN reason I stay with my company.

Because of my messed up work schedule, my two-year-old is a night owl. I have only had her on a "routine" for about six months last year. Our vacation and an unexpectedly hot summer, altered our sleeping arrangements, and she shares my bed now. I would really like to get her back in her crib, and on more of a routine. I just feel like it's such a traumatic issue for her. Last night, she fell asleep on my lap so I put her in the crib. She woke up a little after midnight, screaming, and didn't stop for nearly an hour. 

She is also teething and miserable. 

We live with my parents, and my mom babysits while I'm at work. My mother would like me to work in the evenings, so she can have her days free. If I'm working till 11pm, though, my mom would have to put DD to sleep at night. I guess that's not a big deal if she's sleeping in the crib. I worry about messing with her, and making her feel like she's being punished in the crib. But I also need her out of my bed soon, sleeping and waking at a decent time.

Re: Toddler routines