Adoption

Intro

DLpanda08DLpanda08 member
edited December 2014 in Adoption
Hi! My husband and I have recently taken the first step in our adoption journey so I thought now was as good a time as any to introduce myself here. We don't know many people IRL who have successfully adopted, much less adopted from foster care, so I thought it would be nice to have somewhere I could come for perspective.

Just a little about my husband and I: I'm a first grade teacher in a school where about 96% of the students' first language is not English. DH is a corporate trainer for a large telecommunications company. We have two fairly large dogs we rescued from local shelters because we are suckers for animal adoption events. Our Belgian Malinois will be five in April and our all black German shepherd is turning two in January. They are seriously spoiled and greatly loved. I have a love of books (especially Harry Potter) and cooking/baking. I'm also incapable of cooking for less than ten people, so if you ever want treats or home made pasta please drop by. Chances are there are plenty of leftovers in my fridge. DH is a pretty hardcore Trekkie and enjoys playing video games and eating whatever I cook up. We are both in the process of cultivating a love of exercise to combat our love of pasta.

We just sent in our preliminary application to adopt through our local office of Bethany Christian Services. We hope to adopt through the foster care system and are really hoping to adopt a sibling group of 2-3 children age 4-11. However, we are open to the idea of adopting only one child as well as children slightly older or slightly younger if they are the right fit for our family.