Baby Showers

How quickly did you send out your thank yous?

I just had my baby shower about ten days ago. It was a large shower of over 70 guests and there had still been people who didn't make it that sent a gift. I like to make sure each thank you is carefully written and genuine which has added to the time it takes to write them. I spent probably an hour to only write 6-7. Maybe I'm just crazy for being overly concerned with what I write in them I just hate for them to all sound the same. I've spent several hours a day and several days on them but am still only 2/3 through them all. I feel like they should have been mailed out already though. I know people are probably understanding because I am a full time college student right now and also working but should they have already been sent out or is my situation okay because I'm working diligently on them and they should all be mailed out by the time I hit the two week mark from my shower.... I feel like crap that I couldn't whip them out in just a couple of days.

Re: How quickly did you send out your thank yous?

• Thank you notes are important and should be mailed timely. With that being said, it sounds like you are making great progress! Write what you can everyday and mail them out and keep going until you are finished.

Don't feel "like crap." You are doing your best and should be done soon enough.
  • They can all sound pretty much the same. No one is going to get two and compare them.

"Dear Aunt Madeline, thank you so much for your sweet gift! I can't wait to [wrap baby in his new blanket]. We so appreciate your thoughtfulness. Look forward to seeing you soon! Thank you!"

Also, you sound pretty inexperienced with thank-you notes. By the time college rolled around I'd written hundreds of thank-you notes - birthdays since kindergarten, graduation, etc.