Working Moms

Retirement savings vent

I just have to say this, because it's so frustrating.  I've been working full time in my career for 10 years, and I've contributed 6% to my 401k for 10 years.  When I divide my current retirement savings account balance by 10, the amount ($5,200) is less than what I have contributed to my account each year for the past 5 years (not including my employer contribution).  That SUCKS.  Back in October 2008 I lost half of my savings balance due to the stock market "crash", but my goodness it feels like I should have a much higher balance than what I currently have.  I feel like everytime I look at DH's retirement savings account balance, it gains a couple thousand dollars.  (And I check our balances every few weeks.)  I'm seriously going to set up a new savings account at my credit union and just start putting some money in that per paycheck.  At least they can't take the interest back after they give it to me, and it won't lose value due to market.  I like to think of that as retirement planning/savings diversification.  :)

Misery loves company...anyone else have the same/similar frustration?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Retirement savings vent

• Thanks, @emmyg65:)  My current investment fund mix would be considered "aggressive" and high risk for loss.  I have about 30-35 more years until I retire, so I'm also a long ways off from retirement.  I review my funds once a year using the tool provided through Voya (formerly ING), and rebalance each quarter.  Retirement and financial advisors always say it's good to buy when the price is low (i.e., a down market) so that you have more shares when the price does go up.  It's just depressing to feel like my account isn't going anywhere.  :)

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker