Babies on the Brain
Options

Preconception question

My husband and I are excited for what the future holds, and talk about our future family frequently.  Though we are not currently "trying" to conceive, I am reading up on preconception material and am finding a multitude of valuable information.  That being said, there are certain things I wonder about that I have no direct experience with.

My question is, how many of you who are trying to get pregnant, are pregnant, or have given birth did the preconception exam?  If you did it, did you feel it was beneficial?  In what ways?  To those who waived the exam, are you satisfied with that decision and why?

Thank you in advance for your insight, ladies!

Re: Preconception question

• Options
    I've honestly never heard of a preconception exam until another post on this board today.  I've had yearly well woman check-ups and the occasional physical, but don't see the point of an exam with the sole purpose of trying to conceive.  If you believe there may be an issue that could be worsened by pregnancy than by all means speak with your doctor.  But otherwise it seems like your yearly exam would be sufficient.  

So, clearly, my answer is that no, I did not get one.  Heck I didn't even have a prenatal exam in the first trimester with either of my pregnancies.

B born 7/15/13, C born 3/2/15, #3 on the way May '17