School-Aged Children
Options

School frustrations, long...WDYT?

Spin313Spin313 member
edited October 2014 in School-Aged Children
Deleted; thanks for the comments.

Re: School frustrations, long...WDYT?

• Options
    I'm a writing teacher, and it would break my heart to tell a child, "use less detail," or "write shorter, less descriptive sentences."  A goal for younger writers is always to learn to streetttcccchhh their ideas.  That being said, another really important skill kids have to learn is how to work efficiently.  

Another thing to consider is that some kids would rather take work home and finish it up with a parent sitting beside them than do it in class.  For some kids, the threat, "if you don't finish in class, you'll have to do this for homework!" isn't a threat at all.  It's permission to relax and take their time during class, then do the work at their leisure later that night with the help of a parent. 

I'm not suggesting that your son is knowingly and intentionally goofing off or wasting time.  But it's possible that he doesn't realize that he's not working efficiently. I think if you decide to talk to the teacher, your first question might be, "Is my child on task and working effectively?"  The answer might surprise you.  My son is very well behaved in class... but he doesn't always work efficiently and he can get distracted, especially when he has to write.  If you start with that question, you'll be less likely to put the teacher on the defensive, and then you'll have more room to suggest that taking away recess might not be productive.
    High School English teacher and mom of 2 kids:

DD, born 9/06/00 -- 12th grade
    DS, born 8/25/04 -- 7th grade
  • Options
    Spin313Spin313 member
    edited October 2014