Natural Birth
Options

1 week to go, feeling nervous

Hi everyone. I don't usually post on this board, usually I just read alot, but I could use some support. I'm 39 weeks today, FTM, and starting to have doubts. Thoughts entering my mind are like "why am I so set on med-free birth? can I really do this?" 

My doctor is for the most part supportive, and has said things like "Most women end up getting an epidural; I hope you can prove me wrong". I have a doula, I've read all the books, took the natural childbirth classes, made the birth plan (a basic one with a lot of "if possible" language). 

I'm just starting to feel very nervous and like "Why am I doing this natural birth thing???" I need to get my head back to where it was earlier in pregnancy when I had all the confidence. Any suggestions? Thank you for reading.

Re: 1 week to go, feeling nervous

• Options
    I am making a list of all the reasons I chose to go med-free in the first place.  I've never done it before  and I have a feeling there will be some point  during labor (probably transition) where I won't want to anymore.  I'm giving the list to my husband and having him read it to me during labor.  I'm also including some birth affirmations I've really liked.  Our bodies were made to do this, you have prepared yourself, you can get through it!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options