Baby Names
Options

Names ruined

Have you ever really loved a name and then had it ruined once you met someone with that name? It doesn't even have to be a bad person with that name, just constantly saying it over and over or just knowing that there is someone you know personally?

As a teacher I have both a Charlotte and a Clara in my classes (junior high). Neither of them are bad students, but it's just ruined both names for me now for some reason.
imageimageimage

Lilypie Maternity tickers

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker      

Re: Names ruined

• Options
    Also a teacher, and having a name too often can certainly kill it for me--Jacob, Joshua, Preston, Jackson, Kaylie/Kayla/Kylie, anything that starts with "Mc" like Mckenzie/McKenna/Mckayla, Kaitlyn, and anything ending in aiden or that could have the nickname of Addie.
    Of course, some of these I just plain didn't like ever
  • Options
    I was a preschool teacher and I loved a few names and now realize I could never use them on someone else.

Worst is Coraline. I have always loved it and the NN Cora. A coworker had a baby last year named Caroline and I couldn't use Coraline now because they are just too similar. We live together at a boarding school so the faculty kids/parents are together all of the time.
    Anniversary
    Love: March 2010  Marriage: July 2013  Debt Free: October 2014  TTC: April 2015
     BFP: April 10, 2016 EDD: December 19, 2016 Team Blue!
    Oscar born November 20, 2016 at 35w6d

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    Too many to list.
  • Options
    Yes, this has happened to me.
  • Options
    I especially hate it when a really beautiful name turns out to be a disease.
    Anniversary
  • Options