Working Moms
Options

NWMR- ideas for dealing with MIL

I'm having kind of a tough situation with my MIL, and I'm wondering if anyone has ideas for how to deal.  She calls me on very frequently, and it can be disruptive.  E.g. Friday she called my office, found out I was in the operating room (I'm a surgeon), then called my cell, which the OR circulating nurse answered for me.  She said it wasn't important either time, and just to call her back.  Honestly I didn't bother to call her back, because I was kind of pissed she called me repeatedly at work over nothing important.  So she proceeded to call me two more times that day, then text me to call her.  I later found out from my husband that she wanted to ask me a question about a freckle or something that her 35 yo son had.  So obviously not urgent at all.  I've tried not answering her calls, but she will literally call back four times in a row, and it's never anything important!  I can't turn my phone off because work may call me at all hours.  DH has tried talking to her, but she always says she will try to do better, then goes back to her old ways.  Finally out of frustration I blocked her number.  I feel like that's kind of mean, but I just don't know what else to do.  I'm sure at some point she will ask me why I'm not answering her calls (or better yet, ask my FIL to call me- which is another of her favorite tricks when I don't answer her calls), and I really don't know what to tell her.

Any ideas?

Re: NWMR- ideas for dealing with MIL

• Options
    Maybe it's time to be honest. "I blocked your number. due to my job, I have to leave my phone on. I can't continue to receive mulitple calls from you. We've discussed with you before and as you didn't listen, I blocked your number. And I will block FILs number if necessary". Seriously. She's an adult. She can handle the truth.
  • Options