Breastfeeding
Options

supply question

Ok....I am not complaining,....my 8 week old goes from about 8:00 pm to 3:00 or 4:00 am sleeping.  Is this going to hurt my supply?  Pedi said by 2 months they should go about 7 hours at night.  I just feel like she isn't getting enough. she gained a pound from 2 weeks to 4 weeks.....in the last 3 weeks she hasn't gained even a whole pound (based on me holding her on my scale).  I feed her every 2-3 hours during the day....more often in the evening before bed.  I am just worried about my supply....I nursed my first until 16 months and my second weened himself at 10 months. I would like to go a year.

Just didn't know if anyone had advice from a LC or experience. Thanks.

Re: supply question

• Options
    I have no experience, but I wanted to point out that your method of weighing her is probably not accurate. If you're this concerned, can you rent a baby scale to use at home? Also, is she doing the correct amount of wet/dirty diapers?
  • Options
    I would tend to think that if she is having enough wet diapers and is sleeping long stretches at night she is getting enough. When I EP'd if my guy didn't get 32 oz in a day he would not sleep through the night. So if she is getting 7-8 hour stretch I think she is satisfied for the day.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    When Fluff Mail Arrives:
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Wow, congrats on how awesome your baby is sleeping!  I agree with PPs that you should keep an eye on her diapers.  If you're really nervous about how much she's eating, you can always do a weighted feeding with an LC.  I think the best thing you can do with your LO while she's so young is to BF on demand instead of a schedule.  Enjoy all the sleep you're getting!
  • Options