Babies on the Brain

Testing with a short LP

Hi Ladies! I'm new to TheBump but am excited to get to know you all! I had a question regarding when I should POAS if I have a short LP (About 9 Days).  Right now I'm at 4 DPO and with the FRPR it says I could test up to 6 days before AF. I was thinking of waiting til 4 days before (where there is 96% accuracy) but that still just puts me at 6 DPO... thoughts? 

Re: Testing with a short LP

• I temped for dd2 ( haven't started yet to ttc #3). I had about a 10 day lp. I generally watched my temps, and if they stayed up by day 10 I'd test. So basically I waited until the day of my expected period. Seems like 6dpo is a bit too soon to me.
    Love: 8.10.99
    Marriage: 12.18.04
    DD1: 5.19.10
    DD2: 4.11.12
    #3 EDD 4.23.16

• Hi--yes; I've been temping since November and have really clear spikes when I ovulate.  I also confirm the date with OPKs.  I suppose the accuracy percentages for the PT are based on an average cycle--so 4 days before AF would be 10 DPO for the 'average' woman.  Looks like I'll be waiting longer to test. 
  • Loading the player...
  • I've always heard that 10dpo is the earliest you can test
    Love: 8.10.99
    Marriage: 12.18.04
    DD1: 5.19.10
    DD2: 4.11.12
    #3 EDD 4.23.16

• @Littleliverpill, you've described my cycle! I went to the doctor recently because I was worried about it and she decided to call my LP from the day I start ovulating to the day my temp starts to drop (even though I'm already spotting at that point).  She ran a couple of blood tests (TSH and lactin) to make sure those were normal (they were) but I from what I read I thought for sure she would test for Progesterone but she didn't. Anyways, from what she tested I look normal but I have the same question as you: if I already start spotting before implantation can occur...do we have a chance?  I think our question is scientifically grounded and a good one.