Babies on the Brain
Options

Intro & overweight question

Hello!
My name is Shannon and I'm new to the bump. My husband and I are finally going to start TTC after 7 years of marriage. I'm excited but I'm also unsure if we should start right now because of my weight issues--I'm at about a 27.5 BMI.
Thoughts?

Re: Intro & overweight question

• Options
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Options
    nicpugnicpug member

Hi Shannon,  I am overweight as well.  My DH and I are TTC in July.  Being that I am overweight, I have fears and concerns but I decided to let myself not worry about that and try first.  I am going to a pre-conception appointment with my GYN.  It probably wouldn't hurt to do as well just to easy your anxiety.

If we don't get PG in July or August I am going to start charting.   GL!!! :)

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    nicpugnicpug member
    Yes I do -but does that mean I shouldn't be thinking positively anyway? 
  • Options
    I actually agree with WhoCanItBeNow. I wouldn't say it is worthless, but it is based on sedentary life (not people who are active and have muscles and bone density varies with people), even my dietitian and variety of health professionals say that. The best shape in my life where I was going to the gym 4 days a week, walking everywhere, a lot of stamina, strength, flexibility and etc and I was at 25.8 BMI. Recently I have let myself go and now I am about 31. BMI is a good guideline but I would not put too much thought in it.

I am currently in the process of loosing weight because my gma got diabetes during pregnancy (among some other reasons) so I am trying to get my weight under control and eat healthier before trying but we are planning TTC in a couple months (it is more dependent on finishing school than weight).