Working Moms
Options

Should I still pursue a teaching career? Advice needed.

edited June 2014 in Working Moms

I"m coming over from the SAHM board. I've been home for 4 years come September. I love being home with my 2 girls, though it wasn't really planned this way. DH's overtime got cut, he just took a second job, we are TRYING to save for a house and living in the state of NY, he just doesn't make enough to do this and for me stay home forever. I'm certified to teach Elementary school. I went back and had to get my master's in order to get certified since my B.A. was in liberal arts. I now REGRET doing this and have student loans to pay off eventually. My B.A. was paid off.  When I was halfway through the program, they put hiring restrictions on who public schools could even hire, and of course, my certification was one that was restricted. But principals CAN find ways around it and hire you if they REALLY want to. I worked full time in finance (low level sales/admin asst which I didn't care for, but I could have worked my way up) while I got my master's. I will be certified for 4 years come this February, I'm not getting any younger and would like to have some sort of "career" when I do go back to work, though I don't know how much longer I can hold off for a teaching job.