January 2014 Moms

Anyone have any experience with ADHD/ODD?

My stepson, age 5 1/2, was recently diagnosed with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and Oppositional Defiant Disorder.  I have been in the picture since he was 14 months so I have been watching this develop for a long time; although as a toddler I just assumed it was the age and he would grow out of it.  It is getting worse as he is getting older.  He lagged behind in preschool (attended for two years) both developmentally and socially and his teacher recommended testing.

I am a teacher so I am now home every day during the summer with him and most days I am at my wits end.  I try to remain calm, give choices, set a clear routine, etc. but it is draining and it is the same thing every day.  Can anyone offer any of their experiences/advice?
imageimage

Lilypie - (75Jo)

Re: Anyone have any experience with ADHD/ODD?

• I have had plenty of experience with ADHD through teaching first graders. I also have had at least one ODD student. It is hard, but the main thing I noticed helped was a very structured day. I would not allow many choices, give 2 options. I'm sure you are close to your stepson and that's so important to get them into "buying in" to good behavior. Make sure you give tons of praise when he does something right. Have outside "blowing off steam" time if possible. Try to find his "currency." What does he love above all. Have him earn that using some sort of system (stickers on a chart, coloring in circles, etc) Also, have it be a consequence that his "currency" will be taken away if he does something that really breaks the rules. You've got a handful, and I know it's hard (and boring). Good luck mama!

Anniversary

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
    Lilypie Pregnancy tickers