October 2014 Moms
Options

Do you go by weeks or months?

Now that we are in the grey area (at least for me) with timing, I'm always confused about this.  I'm sure I'm over thinking it too so I will put that out there right away.  Also, I feel like a total newb asking this question!

21 weeks = 5 months but I still have 19 weeks left = 5 months 

So my one aunt asks me how far along I am and says, "don't give me any of that weeks crap, how many months?"  So I told her 5.  She then did the math and said "oh so only four months left, well 16 weeks isn't so bad!!"

Nope, I told her I have 20 weeks left and she tried to tell me how I was wrong, 4 months doesn't = 20 weeks.  According to her (clearly an expert, can you tell) my dates are off.  WTF?

So anyway, when people ask you, do you use months or weeks?  I've defaulted to "halfway" for the last couple weeks...
Lilypie - (JrNi)

Lilypie - (y35Q)

Re: Do you go by weeks or months?

• Options
    I go by weeks. But people asume 5 months means 4 months to go, but really we ate actually pregnant 10 months if we make it to 40 weeks. Pregnancy math is confusing. Weeks are easier to go by because it's more exact. Not sure what to do when people don't want the weeks. I just kind of round. 22 weeks, I'm 5 and a half months...
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I agree with @lrobi13‌. Depends on who I am talking to. If I am close to a new month mark or not.
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options
    It really depends on who I'm talking to about it. With H and friends/family who are familiar with the weeks (i.e. have recently had a baby) I use weeks. With coworkers and men in general, I use months. I say 5 months. 

If someone had come back like your Aunt, my response would probably have been "Well, pregnancy is really 10 months, not 9." Or, just smile, nod and go on my way. Depends on if I have the red ass that day or not ;)
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    ::two chest pumps and a peace sign for Jenn:: ~ MrsJudgeyPants