October 2013 Moms
Options

Baby wearing question!

So I'd like to buy a woven wrap, and I have been looking at a Facebook swap page. They keep talking about 'breaking' them in. What does this mean? Does the material just get softer, and easier to work with? As a newb, should I buy used so I don't have to 'break' it in? And what brand would you recommend?? Sorry for all the questions, and thanks in advance!

Re: Baby wearing question!

• Options
    Lee81Lee81 member
    I'm new at this too, but from what I've gathered, some wraps are softer than others out of the box. If you get one that's soft from the start, it's nice and floppy and molds easily around baby. If you get one that needs breaking in, it'll be stiff like drapery at first but, yes, it will get softer and easier to work with as you use it. I've seen people say that one of the best parts of buying used is not having to worry about breaking it in. Some of the brands that I remember reading are pretty soft right out of the box were Girasol, Neobulle, BB Slen, Dolcina, and Vatanai. Some of the Didymos weaves, too, but there are so many of them that I can't keep track of what's what.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    Lee81Lee81 member
    Oh, as far as recommendations, I went with the Neobulle. I like it so far. It seems reasonably breathable for warm weather but it's not so thin that it's likely to dig when DD gets bigger. I bought my wrap used and my ring sling new (both Neobulle) and they are both equally soft. I wouldn't call them floppy, but it's soft enough to work with pretty easily. I have never tried or even felt any of the others, though, so I don't have any real basis for comparison.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I prefer used as some wraps (linen in particular) are beastly to break in. Breaking in makes them soft and floppy, essentially easier to wrap with.