November 2014 Moms
Options

Accepting teaching offer at new school in Sept...

Hey all,
So I know there's been a few posts about interviewing for new jobs while pregnant, when to tell the prospective employer, etc. I'm in a bit of a special situation, though, as I'm an elementary school art teacher. Currently, I'm employed by a public charter school in Boston, which is both run by a private company *and* a part of Boston Public Schools (so I am officially a BPS employee). I desperately wanted to get out of this school at the end of the year since these people are a little cray-cray and I "don't drink the kool-aid" around here, so I interviewed for a dream job at another (traditional) Boston Public School and got an offer today (yayyy!) However, I'm not sure when to unload the big news, as I'd be starting at the new school (though not at a new district, so the people who cut my checks will stay the same) in September and leaving for like 2-3 months around Turkey Day. I think I'm covered by the laws in place, since I've been a BPS employee for over a year now, but I don't want to take any chances. Any other teachers out there in similar situations who can offer any advice/stories/etc about when to tell the (new) principal, how mat. leave was handled, and/or starting at a new school while 7 months pregnant?
Thanks!
October Challenge: How I feel about the 3rd trimester:

Throwback: Hubby and I on our first date (Nov 2007), and then again on our wedding day (Nov 2012)

Re: Accepting teaching offer at new school in Sept...

• Options
    Congrats on the new job!  I'm not sure how things would work with maternity leave, but I would definitely tell the principle sooner rather than later (once you've accepted the job), since they'll want plenty of time to find a sub for you while you're on maternity leave.

• Options
    morrkimmorrkim member