May 2014 Moms

Why would my doctor want to induce me?

Hey ladies! I am new to all of this bump stuff so bear with me. I'm 39 weeks today (May 21 is my dd), I had my 39 week appointment yesterday. Well my Dr. said I'm not dilated at all . Other than that everything is perfectly normal and healthy. My BP is 120, I've had a perfectly healthy pregnancy. Well she asked me if I would like to schedule an induction, completely caught me off guard! I've read all about how dilation doesn't really mean anything and due dates can be wrong. I just don't understand why she would even mention an induction a week before I'm due. She confused me with all these stats on fetal death rates and how placentas go bad. I really don't want to be induced before my body is ready and if there is no medical reason. Why would she even ask me about induction this early? I'm not even that uncomfortable yet and feel like maybe baby isn't ready yet. It just really confused and upset me. Any advice or input would be nice. Thank you!

Re: Why would my doctor want to induce me?

• I'm not sure. My doc recommended scheduling C-section at 41 weeks if baby remains high and I still do not dilate. He informed me induction with a baby that high and 0 dilation may be stressful on baby and mom.

I'm sorry I have no answers but look forward to others responses.
  • You can tell her no. Most doctors won't induce until 41-42 weeks. Did you ask her why she wants to induce this early? I am doing everything I can to not get induced and go naturally. Yes, the placenta can go bad after a longer period of time if the baby has their first bm in the womb but mostly they come when they're ready. For her to encourage you to push it when you and baby aren't ready just tells you how doctors are with births these days; convenience for them.
    image Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Loading the player...
  • HalanaMHalanaM member