Baby Showers
Options

Co-ed shower/Baby-Q/etc. and gift opening

This is my first time posting on this board, so sorry if this is a repeat question.  We're having a Baby-Q this weekend - basically just a big BBQ in our backyard that will be catered, and I'm assuming people will be bringing us gifts based on questions we've been getting from our parents.  Do the guests of honor typically open gifts at events like these?  I HATE the gift opening part of having a shower - I don't mind watching others do it, but I myself hate everyone watching me while I open gifts, it just not my thing because I have a hard time getting ooey-gooey and screeching "OMG!" over gifts of any kind, it's just not my personality.  Obviously this time I would have DH helping so hopefully it would go fast, but do people typically open gifts when it's not a traditional baby shower?  I'm wondering if we even really need to do it at all in front of people....TIA!
Me 31 ~ DH 30
IVF/FET #1 - BFP!!
<3 CJW 6/15/2014 <3
DX - PCOS 2004
FET #2 - scheduled for 11/24/15

Re: Co-ed shower/Baby-Q/etc. and gift opening

• Options
    Disneygeek77Disneygeek77 member
    edited May 2014
    Yes, you open their gifts, it is the polite thing to do.  They took time out of their day to shop, pick out, buy and wrap  a gift for you.  The least you can do is plaster a smile on your face and say thank you.  

If you don't want to open gifts in front of everyone maybe open the gifts as people arrive, but you do open them.  
  • Options
    Hi,

I am also doing a coed BBQ for my shower as well and have struggled with this question tool! My friends have all said that they also are bored by the gift opening as much as I and would rather me not do the gift opening, but my sisters say that some of my older family members may want this. I am still undecided, but if i do end up doing the gift opening I am going to do it in the house with only the girls or whomever wants to attend and let the guys do their thing.