Multiples

leaking fluid?

I am 29 weeks pregnant with di-di girls.  I have a question, kinda embarrassing though.  Every time I go to the Doctor whether its my OB or MFM, I am asked if I am leaking fluid.

So anyone that is pregnant knows that it is always kinda wet down there (for lack of better word)  Can you feel the difference between regular pregnant discharge or leaking fluid?

This is not my first pregnancy, my water broke with my first so I know what that feels like.  Plus I want to answer that everytime I pee I feel like I leak.

Can anyone give me guidance on this? 

Re: leaking fluid?

• I couldn't tell the difference between leaking amniotic fluid and normal discharge. I mentioned having more discharge than usual to my doc and she checked it with a little test strip. Long story short...I delivered via emergency csection that day! If you ever question the fluid thing just mention it to your doctor because it's easy to test for. If my doctor didn't catch my leaking early then things could have gone really bad for me and my girls.
  • I'm pretty sure I am the (self-proclaimed) Queen of leaking fluid.  I had a broken water with a slow leak for 4 weeks before I delivered my twins.  I could feel the fluid leaking out of me every time I stood up from a sitting or lying position.  It wasn't just wetness in my underwear. And if you are questioning it at all, go in and get checked!  I tested negative twice (even though I could still feel the leaking) before it was finally confirmed that I was leaking amniotic fluid.  AF also had a distinct "sweet" smell to it, but I didn't pick up on that for the first few days.  
    Double the love
    photo Eastercollage_zps0735f04a.jpg
    7/30/12 - B/G twins born at 33w4d due to PPROM
  • Loading the player...
  • Yes I had that and it was just more and a little different feeling than regular discharge.  If you think it really could be leaking fluid, then I would get it checked out by your doctor.